MONTGOMERY, Ala. — The Alabama Senate Republican Caucus welcomes Wes Kitchens as the newly elected state senator for Senate District 9 after the special Republican primary election earlier this month.

Kitchens took the oath of office at the Marshall County Courthouse today, Jan. 23, and will assume his position in the Senate immediately.

“I am incredibly excited to welcome Wes Kitchens to the Alabama Senate,” said Senator Greg Reed, President Pro Tempore of the Alabama Senate. “Senator Kitchens is a proven advocate for Alabama values, and he has consistently demonstrated a passion and ability to serve his constituents well. I look forward to working with him in this new role and look forward to continuing to make Alabama the best state in the country to call home.”

“The Senate Republican Caucus is proud to welcome a strong conservative like Wes Kitchens to the Alabama State Senate,” said Senate Majority Leader Steve Livingston. “Wes brings with him a proven track record of a deep-rooted commitment to conservative values. We look forward to working with Senator Kitchens to champion and protect the principles that define our state.”

With two terms as a representative in the House, Kitchens brings a wealth of experience to his new role. He previously served as the vice-chair of the Alabama Republican House Caucus and co-chair of the Alabama Pre-K Commission. Kitchens is the chairman of the Marshall County Republican Party.

Before his time in the Legislature, Kitchens was the president of the Arab Chamber of Commerce, where he focused on workforce and community development.

“I want to thank the voters in Blount, Madison, and Marshall counties,” said Senator Kitchens. “We live in a wonderful part of our state — we are blessed with quality schools, safe communities, and a growing economy. My job every day will be to continue the good work of my friend Senator Clay Scofield. I want to help local leaders make north Alabama an even better home for us all.”

Senate District 9 encompasses Blount, Madison, and Marshall counties.